Security Basics
Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 04:32PM
Robert Larsen (robert the-playground dk) (16 replies)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 17 2013 11:37AM
Robert Larsen (robert the-playground dk)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 11 2013 08:20PM
ToddAndMargo (ToddAndMargo zoho com) (1 replies)
RE: Locate wifi client Oct 14 2013 10:30AM
Sinjakov Ivan (i sinjakov ftc ru)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 08:40PM
Clint Marsden (droid07 gmail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 08:04PM
Florian Jung (flo windfisch org)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 07:53PM
Tony (xnikod gmail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 06:21PM
Scott Herbert (scott a herbert googlemail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 06:11PM
Caraway, Brad (Brad Caraway landisgyr com) (1 replies)
RE: Locate wifi client Oct 10 2013 09:47AM
Sinjakov Ivan (i sinjakov ftc ru) (1 replies)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 11 2013 02:15PM
Ryan (ramaillist gmail com) (1 replies)
RE: Locate wifi client Oct 11 2013 06:27PM
Joseph Schulte (jschulte ywcss com) (1 replies)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 11 2013 08:03PM
ToddAndMargo (ToddAndMargo zoho com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 06:10PM
Tracy Reed (treed ultraviolet org) (1 replies)
On Wed, Oct 09, 2013 at 09:32:36AM PDT, Robert Larsen spake thusly:
> Anybody knows about hardware/software used for locating a wifi client?
> Somebody is downloading torrents at full speed on our network and nobody
> will admit it (or simply stop), and we really don't want to restrict
> network usage since there are many legal stuff on torrent sites too so
> is there a way of finding a client with a specific mac address?

How many people can legitimately your wifi? Do you run an open network? If so
it could be someone who doesn't even belong to your organization.

Can you see the IP address of the person doing the downloading? Do you have a
DHCP server which can tell you which MAC that was assigned to? Even some of the
cheap WAPs will show the dhcp mac/ip table.

Do you have a list of the MAC addresses assigned to everyone? If you don't,
Change the wifi password. Give the new password out only after you have
recorded each person's MAC address. Then you should be able to track down
offenders.

--
Tracy Reed, RHCE Digital signature attached for your safety.
Copilotco PCI/HIPAA/SOX Compliant Secure Hosting
866-MY-COPILOT x101 http://copilotco.com
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.5 (GNU/Linux)

iD8DBQFSVZwQBhSTPg0d/nQRAtBZAJ9fF86hWua5Lon9fpt2dV2F42zObQCdE1lJ
5ZibTYqUoNHHpurGBHY1JYs=
=8peU
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

[ reply ]
RE: Locate wifi client Oct 10 2013 08:15AM
Graszka Piotr (P_Graszka compfort pl)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:45PM
Philip Holbrook (fhlipzero gmail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:33PM
Jerome Athias (athiasjerome gmail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:19PM
Derek Belrose (dbelrose jhu edu)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:17PM
Joe Szilagyi (jszilagyi SonicWALL com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:13PM
Jason Hellenthal (jhellenthal dataix net)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:10PM
H. Kurth Bemis (kurth kurthbemis com) (1 replies)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:20PM
Robert Larsen (robert the-playground dk) (2 replies)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 12 2013 04:13PM
mlbugtraq noci xs4all nl
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 12 2013 03:38PM
Nico Baggus (nico noci xs4all nl)
RE: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:05PM
Milen Mihnev Private (milen 83bg gmail com)
Re: Locate wifi client Oct 09 2013 05:04PM
Rajiv D (rajiv ceh gmail com)


 

Privacy Statement
Copyright 2010, SecurityFocus